news | articles | reviews | software | modules | accessories | discussion | faq | mobile | store
VisorCentral.com >> Discussion >> Visor Models >> Visor Platinum
Eyemodule error! Help!

Post a New Thread | Post A Reply

  Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Topic: Eyemodule error! Help!    
DBrown
Member

Registered: Jan 2001
Location: Midwest
Posts: 232

Eyemodule error! Help!

I've had a Paltinum Visor for about a year now. Shorty after getting it I also purchased the original eyemodule, which worked fine. I use the moduel every semester to take pictures of my new students, to help me learn their names.

Yesterday I inserted the eyemodule into my platinum and got this message:

(X) This handheld unit's display hardware is not supported by this version of eyemodule. Please contact the vendor for an updated version of the eyemodule.


Clearly, the eyemodule no longer thinks my platinum is a platinum! I have gone through one catastrophic battery failure which required a hard reset to get the platinum working again and am wondering if perhaps the ROM somehow got confused and identifies my platinum as a solo or deluxe now.

Any ideas?

Was there ever an original eyemodule software update? If so, it may be that I just need to find it.

Thanks, everyone.

Dave

__________________
There is nothing yet made by man that cannot be improved upon.

DBrown is offline Old Post 01-24-2002 06:52 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for DBrown Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
thorin
Member

Registered: Jul 2000
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 415

eyemodule 2? have you tired installing the flash ram update?

__________________
-thorin

I have a webcomic. You should read it, or I may do something rash. <b><a href=http://driveby.keenspace.com/>Drive-by Loitering</a></b> is updated every monday, wednesday and friday.

<!img src=http://www.frontfly.com/myrouter/vcsig2.gif alt="Soundsgood is too elite for the punks."><img src=http://www.frontfly.com/vcsig.gif ><!img src=http://www.frontfly.com/myrouter/vcsig2.gif alt="Soundsgood is too elite for the punks.">

thorin is offline Old Post 01-24-2002 09:41 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for thorin Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Thunderbird291
Member

Registered: Feb 2001
Location:
Posts: 447

Go here

Go to eyemodule Update for Palm OS 3.5 for Win or eyemodule Update for Palm OS 3.5 for Mac, depending on your OS.

Thunderbird291 is offline Old Post 01-24-2002 11:58 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Thunderbird291 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
DBrown
Member

Registered: Jan 2001
Location: Midwest
Posts: 232

OK, My memory returned

Yea, it finally kicked in that for the original eyemodule to work with the platinum there was an update required. I got it from Handspring.com. Then I remembered that I needed EYECONTACT too, because the default address book doesn't know about eyemodule pictures. Got it too. Then I noticed that there was special conduit software required to back up or upload pictures from the Visor to the PC. Got that too.

Lesson learned? Don't use defective batteries and allow a catastrophic failure to happen, requiring a hard reset. It's a pain-in-the-rear getting it all back together again!

Dave

__________________
There is nothing yet made by man that cannot be improved upon.

DBrown is offline Old Post 01-25-2002 04:09 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for DBrown Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 04:45 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
[ Show a Printable Version | Email This Page to Someone! | Receive updates to this thread ]

Forum Jump:

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.4
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.