news | articles | reviews | software | modules | accessories | discussion | faq | mobile | store
VisorCentral.com >> Discussion >> Visor Models >> Visor Edge
Non-Funtional Edge anybody?

Post a New Thread | Post A Reply

  Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Topic: Non-Funtional Edge anybody?    
chefyang
Member

Registered: Oct 2002
Location:
Posts: 2

Unhappy Non-Funtional Edge anybody?

Hi all,

I recently got a brand new Edge at a local Bestbuy. I got a great deal because it is an open box item and the last one they carry. I was so happy until I found out that the little metal part on the bottom right of the unit that holds the tip of the stylus is missing. I called Handspring to see if I can buy the part I need, but they said that the only thing they can do for me is exchanging my brand new one with a "perfectly working factory reconditioned unit with slight costetic defect". Yeah, right! What a joke!! Anyway, does anybody out there have a non-working Edge that can sell to me for parts?

thank you so much

Attachment: edgestep2.jpg
This has been downloaded 291 time(s).

chefyang is offline Old Post 10-22-2002 03:08 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for chefyang Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
miradu
TreoCentral Staff

Registered: May 2000
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1429

What about perhaps buying an edge case from the site that you took the image from? (www.gethightech.com)

__________________
-miradu

miradu is offline Old Post 10-22-2002 04:22 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for miradu Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
EJSHUMAK
Member

Registered: Aug 2001
Location: ILLINOIS
Posts: 227

Arrow Be carefull--

A new lower stlus silo might not take care of your problem--
Of the three Edges I have come accross with this dilema--All three had stripped threads in the case that alowed the lower base to fall off-- Check and make sure the threads are ok --you might need a case as well--

Also--The Edge stylus --(allof them) are pretty crappy--You might be better off just carrying a multi stylus instead of a pen---

EJSHUMAK is offline Old Post 10-22-2002 05:34 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for EJSHUMAK Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
chefyang
Member

Registered: Oct 2002
Location:
Posts: 2

Thanks for the replies, guys. I tried gethightech.com. They said that they don't carry the part I need. They did not suggest me to get a new case, so I am just not sure the stylus silo is a part of the case they sell. Doesn't seem like it according to the pictures in the website anyway....

chefyang is offline Old Post 10-22-2002 02:11 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for chefyang Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Palm-n-Hand
Member

Registered: Oct 2002
Location:
Posts: 36

Personally I think I would trust the reconditioned model from Handspring more then an open box from BestBuy. I have owned reconditioned models in the past and have no complaints. They are going to say there may be slight blemishes to cover themselves. These units have been tested by Handspring and made to original specs. Why was the BestBuy model open box? Probably because it was brought back because they broke a piece off and if that is the case they probably didn't take very good care of it in the first place. Just some food for thought.

Palm-n-Hand is offline Old Post 10-23-2002 03:41 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Palm-n-Hand Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 04:44 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
[ Show a Printable Version | Email This Page to Someone! | Receive updates to this thread ]

Forum Jump:

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.4
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.