news | articles | reviews | software | modules | accessories | discussion | faq | mobile | store
VisorCentral.com >> Discussion >> Other Areas of Interest >> Off Topic
DoCoMo in Japan. CDMA, what is this picture of?

Post a New Thread | Post A Reply

  Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Topic: DoCoMo in Japan. CDMA, what is this picture of?    
Burkhardi
Member

Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 38

Question DoCoMo in Japan. CDMA, what is this picture of?

This is from the carrier DoCoMo (which I think means 1,2-3?) in Japan. Does this mean there is CDMA in Japan? I did have CDMA service in Shanghai, China BTW.

Anyway, what is this thing? Some sort of pay first, then talk deal? Any ideas?

Attachment: matttreo023_21dec03.jpg
This has been downloaded 343 time(s).

Burkhardi is offline Old Post 01-22-2004 10:39 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Burkhardi Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Burkhardi
Member

Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 38

http://www.docomo-usa.com/

http://www.nttdocomo.com/

Burkhardi is offline Old Post 01-22-2004 10:49 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Burkhardi Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Burkhardi
Member

Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 38

.

Last edited by Burkhardi on 01-23-2004 at 12:21 AM

Burkhardi is offline Old Post 01-22-2004 10:55 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Burkhardi Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Burkhardi
Member

Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 38

.

Last edited by Burkhardi on 01-23-2004 at 12:21 AM

Burkhardi is offline Old Post 01-22-2004 10:56 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Burkhardi Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Burkhardi
Member

Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 38

.

Last edited by Burkhardi on 01-23-2004 at 12:21 AM

Burkhardi is offline Old Post 01-22-2004 10:56 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Burkhardi Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Burkhardi
Member

Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 38

.

Last edited by Burkhardi on 01-23-2004 at 12:22 AM

Burkhardi is offline Old Post 01-22-2004 10:56 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Burkhardi Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Burkhardi
Member

Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 38

Mr/Mrs Moderator,
Why move to "off topic"?

There is no "woldwide CDMA (like DoCoMo,J-Phone and UniCom) simular to the worlwideGSM(orange and such)).

It doesn't belong in Sprint/Verison CDMA.

And it's not off topic, it's about a CDMA modual (I assume) and what to do with it. That is why I picked the T600 forum. A popular CDMA forum, and we also know that the T600 works overseas and don't know about the Treo300.

Can it be moved to a more fitting forum, so people will not think it some lame off topic post and ignor it (I mean some may think it's lame anyway, but I would like an answer).

Please explain so I will know for future posts.

Thanks, Matt (you can PM me too if you want)

Burkhardi is offline Old Post 01-22-2004 11:36 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Burkhardi Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
ToolkiT
VisorCentral Staff

Registered: Sep 1999
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1883

quote:
Originally posted by Burkhardi
Mr/Mrs Moderator,
Why move to "off topic"?

There is no "woldwide CDMA (like DoCoMo,J-Phone and UniCom) simular to the worlwideGSM(orange and such)).

It doesn't belong in Sprint/Verison CDMA.

And it's not off topic, it's about a CDMA modual (I assume) and what to do with it. That is why I picked the T600 forum. A popular CDMA forum, and we also know that the T600 works overseas and don't know about the Treo300.

Can it be moved to a more fitting forum, so people will not think it some lame off topic post and ignor it (I mean some may think it's lame anyway, but I would like an answer).

Please explain so I will know for future posts.

Thanks, Matt (you can PM me too if you want)


Not sure who moved it, but I can shed some light on why they probably moved it:
-This is not about the T600/T300/etc. so it doesnt fit there
-This is not about SD(IO) so it doesnt fit there

It could have been moved to accesories, but since you are not sure what it is (is it an accesorie for a Treo??) off topic is the most appropriate..

besides that it looks like you are using this forum to host your private pictures... which is not allowed if it is not related to this forum.. so all in all I think the mod has been very nice to you
-

__________________
<IMG WIDTH="200" HEIGHT="50" SRC=http://www.visorcentral.com/images/visorcentral.gif> VisorCentral Discussion Moderator
Do files get embarrassed when they get unzipped?

ToolkiT is offline Old Post 01-22-2004 11:58 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for ToolkiT Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Burkhardi
Member

Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 38

ToolKit,
Thanks for the explanation.
The pitures were for Geekymom. I am not hosting my private pitures here (to link to somewhere else). Sorry if it came across that way. I will remove them.

They were from my trip to China were I found that my Treo600 CDMA phone would work there. THey are also taken from my T600 too. Geekymom also wanted to know how to get the Treo pics on to TC and have them at a viewable size. So I was tring to kill two birds with one stone.

I thought the pictures may have been the reason, and was going to delete them, but the view counts were high for all of them. If they were not wanted or warrented for this site, I assume people would have seen the trend and not viewed the ones at/twoard the end of the thread.

But yes, the moderators have been nice here. I have been to boards where they have power tips, edit everything and don't cut people slack (as y'all did in my case(cut me slack I mean)by not deleting the post). I will keep this in mind for future use.

Thanks again and keep up what makes this site and forum so good

Regards, Matt Burkhard

Burkhardi is offline Old Post 01-23-2004 12:17 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Burkhardi Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Burkhardi
Member

Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 38

Tk, Can you delete all but the first two posts in this thread please. Much thanks

Burkhardi is offline Old Post 01-23-2004 12:45 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Burkhardi Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
cash70
Member

Registered: Nov 2003
Location: DC Metro Area/Northern Virginia
Posts: 15

Re: DoCoMo in Japan. CDMA, what is this picture of?

quote:
Originally posted by Burkhardi
This is from the carrier DoCoMo (which I think means 1,2-3?) in Japan.


- Docomo, J-Phone, TU-KA, AU are different cell phone providers.

quote:
Originally posted by Burkhardi
Does this mean there is CDMA in Japan? I did have CDMA service in Shanghai, China BTW.


http://www.cellular-news.com/forum/...ad.php?tid=2980

quote:
Originally posted by Burkhardi
Anyway, what is this thing? Some sort of pay first, then talk deal? Any ideas?


Don't know. But at 580 Yen (around $5.50) I doubt that it would be a pay first-then talk deal. You can't get a Big Mac for 580 Yen in Japan. Maybe a "signal booster".

cash70

__________________
"Everything that can be invented has been invented." --Charles H. Duell, Commissioner, U.S. Office of Patents, 1899.

Nokia 5170/Palm III > Kyocera 6035 > Treo 600

cash70 is offline Old Post 01-23-2004 01:41 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for cash70 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Burkhardi
Member

Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 38

$70, Thanks for the reply. Ypur right, at $5.85 it's probably pretty lame. I just saw the CDMA on it and DoCoMo, who I knew was a carrier and got excited and took a pic to sharr with the group. Your right, could be anything booster, card holder, case...LOL ;-)

oh well, at least we know CDMA is there, but I could not get seevice there. Perhaps a W-CDMA thing?
Matt

Burkhardi is offline Old Post 01-23-2004 02:33 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Burkhardi Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
snerdy
Member

Registered: Dec 2002
Location: Oh so very secret
Posts: 19

DoCoMo-a-gogo

quote:
Originally posted by Burkhardi
This is from the carrier DoCoMo (which I think means 1,2-3?) in Japan.

I've had this explained to me before, and (if what I remember is correct) DoCoMo is a sort of pseudo-acronym that stands for "Do Communication." It's a kind of more fashionable subsidiary of NTT, and the 1-2-3 thing is probably intentional.

Edit: ah, "mobility" -- that was it. Interestingly, that apparently just makes it an acronym, even though it uses the first two letters of each word. Too bad about the numbering thing, it was a nice theory.
VVVVVVVVVV

Last edited by snerdy on 01-23-2004 at 08:44 AM

snerdy is offline Old Post 01-23-2004 03:54 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for snerdy Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
jeffharris
Member

Registered: Oct 2003
Location: New York & Miami, USA
Posts: 1

DoCoMo is an acro-pseudonym for "Do Communications Mobiliy", and has nothing to do with Japanese numbering system (1,2,3 is ichi-ni-san).

The picture you show looks like some sort of toy that resembles something mobile. You cannot get any phone accessory for Yen 580 -- I have a J-Phone/Vodafone account there-- even the lanyard cords for phones are that much!

__________________
Jeff
jeff@nospam.jeffharris.com
www.jeffharris.com

jeffharris is offline Old Post 01-23-2004 08:30 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for jeffharris Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Burkhardi
Member

Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 38

I think your guys are right, for tht cheap, it's a toy phone for a kid I guess? But why all the elabrate CDMA logos and carrier names? We need to find someone that can read Japanese...
Thanks,Matt

Burkhardi is offline Old Post 01-23-2004 01:22 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Burkhardi Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
ToolkiT
VisorCentral Staff

Registered: Sep 1999
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1883

quote:
Originally posted by Burkhardi
I think your guys are right, for tht cheap, it's a toy phone for a kid I guess? But why all the elabrate CDMA logos and carrier names? We need to find someone that can read Japanese...
Thanks,Matt


I asked my co-worker in tokyo:
it is sort of like a battery pack.
It saids "Cel phone full charge second power"
That is the direct translation
for the letters on the right hand side.
In the middle, where the arror is,
it saids "compatible with different compaines"
(e.g.g DOCOMO, J-PHone, Tu-Ka.."
all of these are carriers.
Then,
on the left hand side
,
another direct translation
"Turbo starter, recharge power, long lasting"
That's pretty much it.

__________________
<IMG WIDTH="200" HEIGHT="50" SRC=http://www.visorcentral.com/images/visorcentral.gif> VisorCentral Discussion Moderator
Do files get embarrassed when they get unzipped?

ToolkiT is offline Old Post 01-29-2004 06:43 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for ToolkiT Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
thppfft
Member

Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Shanghai, China
Posts: 24

Here's a site that lists all the countries in the world that have CDMA. Google is great!

http://www.cdg.org/worldwide/index...._technology=999

But seeing how there are may different versions of CDMA, YMMV

__________________
I have the world in my Palm

Last edited by thppfft on 02-05-2004 at 03:36 PM

thppfft is offline Old Post 02-05-2004 03:29 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for thppfft Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Burkhardi
Member

Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 38

Thanks TK!

Now we know...
Arigato, Matt

Burkhardi is offline Old Post 02-05-2004 09:10 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Burkhardi Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 04:50 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
[ Show a Printable Version | Email This Page to Someone! | Receive updates to this thread ]

Forum Jump:

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.4
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.