news | articles | reviews | software | modules | accessories | discussion | faq | mobile | store
VisorCentral.com >> Discussion >> Visor Models >> Visor Prism
Screen For Prism

Post a New Thread | Post A Reply

  Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Topic: Screen For Prism    
brendanorourke
Member

Registered: Mar 2003
Location:
Posts: 2

Unhappy Screen For Prism

I recently had a screen replacement due to a dropped Prism (I also had a 16MB upgrade whilst I was about it). The memory upgrade went well but the digitiser had problems and finally stopped working. I took the Prism apart to have a look and there seems to be have been some dodgy soldering on the digitiser contact where it is attached to the motherboard. The little white plastic connecter that is soldered onto the flexible clear plastic connector has become detached.

I do not want to send it back to the guy who did the screen replacement as I am in the UK and he is in the States and he will not answer my emails at the moment. I am going to get someone local to try to resolder the connector however I do not know which bits get soldered onto which bits. Can anyone help with instructions or a picture of how it should be connected. On the soldering done by the upgrade guy there seemed to be a wire soldered in some sort of cross-over fashion - this is now lost as that was one of the bits that had fallen off. Any help would be really welcome.

brendanorourke is offline Old Post 03-24-2003 10:15 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for brendanorourke Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
gooselab
Member

Registered: Mar 2001
Location: Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 29

If I understand your problem correctly, the clear plastic ribbon isn't actually soldered to the white connector on the motherboard, it is held in there by clips, and you should be able to easily reinsert the ribbon cable into the white plastic receptacle once you open up the clips as per the instructions provided at gethightech.com .
I'm not sure about the wire you are refering to, but maybe this will get our digitizer working again.

gooselab is offline Old Post 03-26-2003 10:15 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for gooselab Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
brendanorourke
Member

Registered: Mar 2003
Location:
Posts: 2

Thanks for the response. I understand what you are saying - however the white part of the flexi-cable that clips onto the motherboard is detached from the actual flexible cable - see picture. I think it was soldered together before and the "wire" was holding it together.

The remainder of the cable will not clip in properly. I want ot get it soldered back together but I need to know how it should be soldered.

Attachment: cable.jpg
This has been downloaded 354 time(s).

brendanorourke is offline Old Post 03-29-2003 11:43 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for brendanorourke Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 04:43 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
[ Show a Printable Version | Email This Page to Someone! | Receive updates to this thread ]

Forum Jump:

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.4
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.