news | articles | reviews | software | modules | accessories | discussion | faq | mobile | store
VisorCentral.com >> Discussion >> Other Areas of Interest >> Off Topic
Pc Tech Question

Post a New Thread | Post A Reply

  Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Topic: Pc Tech Question    
dishon22
Member

Registered: Oct 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3

Pc Tech Question

I have 2 hard drives
Hard drive #1 has my OS on it
Hard drive #2 is used for mp3's
the problem is that when i disconnect hard drive #2 my computer will not boot up I also have the hard drives connect to a controller card "Promise ultra100tx" can anyone help me

dishon22 is offline Old Post 01-22-2004 08:48 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for dishon22 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Felipe
Member

Registered: Nov 1999
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 560

where does the boot stop?

what os are you using?

__________________
Felipe Garcia
Happy Treo 600 user, so far. Thanx Cingular for having an unlocked phone.

My Treo 600 is my phone, my PDA, my watch, and my MP3 player. Oh yeah, I take a picture once in a while with it. Convergence is such a great thing.

Felipe is offline Old Post 01-23-2004 01:24 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Felipe Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
ToolkiT
VisorCentral Staff

Registered: Sep 1999
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1883

You probably have your MAster Boot Record (MBR) on disk2

Let me make a guess: Was disk 2 the original disk where the OS used to be and you added disk 1 later and reinstalled windows on that disk?

__________________
<IMG WIDTH="200" HEIGHT="50" SRC=http://www.visorcentral.com/images/visorcentral.gif> VisorCentral Discussion Moderator
Do files get embarrassed when they get unzipped?

ToolkiT is offline Old Post 01-23-2004 02:47 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for ToolkiT Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Felipe
Member

Registered: Nov 1999
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 560

quote:
Originally posted by ToolkiT
You probably have your MAster Boot Record (MBR) on disk2

Let me make a guess: Was disk 2 the original disk where the OS used to be and you added disk 1 later and reinstalled windows on that disk?



that is what i was thinking.

__________________
Felipe Garcia
Happy Treo 600 user, so far. Thanx Cingular for having an unlocked phone.

My Treo 600 is my phone, my PDA, my watch, and my MP3 player. Oh yeah, I take a picture once in a while with it. Convergence is such a great thing.

Felipe is offline Old Post 01-23-2004 03:10 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Felipe Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
dishon22
Member

Registered: Oct 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3

My OS is win xp pro.
Drive 2 was my original drive where my OS use to be...the system stops at the boot screen

dishon22 is offline Old Post 01-23-2004 01:08 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for dishon22 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Rendition
Member

Registered: Jan 2004
Location:
Posts: 4

Check also for your BIOS settings, makes sure HD settings are on auto-detect.

__________________
http://www.firstadopter.com - where early adopters discuss great stuff first

Rendition is offline Old Post 01-25-2004 01:34 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Rendition Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 04:50 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
[ Show a Printable Version | Email This Page to Someone! | Receive updates to this thread ]

Forum Jump:

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.4
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.