news | articles | reviews | software | modules | accessories | discussion | faq | mobile | store
VisorCentral.com >> Discussion >> Visor Models >> Visor Platinum
Benchmark 2.0

Post a New Thread | Post A Reply

  Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Topic: Benchmark 2.0    
Prismer2
Member

Registered: Aug 2002
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 108

Benchmark 2.0

OK, here is a Plat question, although I do not own one.

I own a Neo, Pro, and Prism. All of these have the same CPU and clock speed, according to HS. So why do they Benchmark so differently?

Benchmark 2.0 has the Plat at 204% of the Palm IIIe/IIIxe, while my Neo and Pro both score at only 162%. Heck, the Deluxe, with the slower CPU still gets 145%, if you believe the stats in Benchmark. Surprisingly, my Prism scores a whopping 264%.

Go figure!

Man, I need to figure out how to make my Prism visible in daylight!

__________________
The Prismer

"I am not a number, I am a person!"

Prismer2 is offline Old Post 09-20-2002 07:52 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Prismer2 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
EJSHUMAK
Member

Registered: Aug 2001
Location: ILLINOIS
Posts: 227

Unhappy Slow Prism--

I only get a 206% on my prism--

EJSHUMAK is offline Old Post 09-30-2002 11:36 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for EJSHUMAK Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Prismer2
Member

Registered: Aug 2002
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 108

Prism down to ONLY 244% now.

Well, I just reran the Benchmark program on my Prism, and it is down to 244%. It could be that some recently loaded program is slowing it down some. That could be your "problem" as well. Or if you have upgraded the memory to 16 MB, would that slow down the unit?

That still does not explain why my Neo and Pro record the same speed as each other, but much slower than the Prism did with the same apps and memory usage.

I would think, the more memory that is used, the slower the unit will benchmark. Maybe the given clock speed (33 MHz) is not what each unit is actually set at. Possibly the clock speeds were changed to tweak performance.

Anyone know for sure?



__________________
The Prismer

"I am not a number, I am a person!"

Prismer2 is offline Old Post 10-01-2002 05:00 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Prismer2 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
EJSHUMAK
Member

Registered: Aug 2001
Location: ILLINOIS
Posts: 227

Arrow I think total mem does impact

I believe that the total memory addressed does impact the benchmark numbers---But that's just heresay--
Not the case with mine--I have a lowly 8megs--

It is interesting though---I've run a half dozen edges through it and got the exact same reading---244% on all--Though they are all running the same programs--

EJSHUMAK is offline Old Post 10-01-2002 05:07 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for EJSHUMAK Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 04:45 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
[ Show a Printable Version | Email This Page to Someone! | Receive updates to this thread ]

Forum Jump:

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.4
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.