news | articles | reviews | software | modules | accessories | discussion | faq | mobile | store
VisorCentral.com >> Discussion >> Other Areas of Interest >> Customer Service
Activation Nightmare T600

Post a New Thread | Post A Reply

Pages (2): [1] 2 »   Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Topic: Activation Nightmare T600    Pages (2): [1] 2 »
rventuri
Member

Registered: Jan 2003
Location:
Posts: 3

Activation Nightmare T600

I am on the phone with Sprint right now, and they have no idea how to activate the Treo 600. They have checked with the PCS Vision people, wireless web people, know one at Sprint seems to know.

Anyone have any ideas? Has anyone else gotten it activated.

rventuri is offline Old Post 10-07-2003 07:20 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for rventuri Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Jaggrey
Member

Registered: Sep 2003
Location: DC / Miami
Posts: 8

Another one of every1's greatest fears. Since Sprint hasn't "officially released" the phone, the activation instructions prolly aren't in there. Maybe u can go by the Treo 300 instructions?

__________________
My how time flies.......

Palm IIIxe...Palm Vx...Sony Clie S300...Clie N610C...Clie T615C...Clie NR70...Clie TG50...Palm Tungsten C...Handspring Treo 600...Tungsten E

Jaggrey is offline Old Post 10-07-2003 07:25 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Jaggrey Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
wombat2
Member

Registered: Oct 2003
Location:
Posts: 17

Treo 300 instructions will most likely work.

wombat2 is offline Old Post 10-07-2003 07:29 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for wombat2 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
JD007
Member

Registered: Oct 2003
Location:
Posts: 3

Same problem, on the phone for an hour. Finally suggested Treo 300 activation which we did and it said activation was successful. Rep said must turn off phone and wait 2 hours. So I'm waiting.

JD007 is offline Old Post 10-07-2003 07:44 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for JD007 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Jaggrey
Member

Registered: Sep 2003
Location: DC / Miami
Posts: 8

quote:
Originally posted by JD007
Same problem, on the phone for an hour. Finally suggested Treo 300 activation which we did and it said activation was successful. Rep said must turn off phone and wait 2 hours. So I'm waiting.
Dunno about that....the phone has to be on in order for Vision to provision. Voice should start working immediately.

__________________
My how time flies.......

Palm IIIxe...Palm Vx...Sony Clie S300...Clie N610C...Clie T615C...Clie NR70...Clie TG50...Palm Tungsten C...Handspring Treo 600...Tungsten E

Jaggrey is offline Old Post 10-07-2003 07:49 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Jaggrey Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
PocketAddict
Member

Registered: Oct 2003
Location:
Posts: 1

I am new to sprint. How do I activate?

__________________
Pocket Addict

Clie UX50/Ti68/Nextel BB 6510

PocketAddict is offline Old Post 10-07-2003 07:54 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for PocketAddict Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
JD007
Member

Registered: Oct 2003
Location:
Posts: 3

That's what she said. Anyway I checked and voice is working. The 600 is now provisioning

JD007 is offline Old Post 10-07-2003 08:04 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for JD007 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
mattmcg
Member

Registered: May 2002
Location:
Posts: 2

So quick question for you now that you have one. Does the LED blink when you receive a voicemail? Does it support multiple colors for service, voicemail, and text messaging?

mattmcg is offline Old Post 10-07-2003 08:08 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for mattmcg Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
MHR
Member

Registered: Sep 2003
Location:
Posts: 3

Hmmm

Also new to Sprint. Just got my 600 and it's charging as I type.

I recall that I was told when I ordered yesterday that the phone would come activated. Is that not true?? I have to call, etc??

Thanks.

MHR is offline Old Post 10-07-2003 08:11 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for MHR Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
SprintTreo600
Member

Registered: Sep 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 13

if you opened a new line of service with sprint then it comes "activated" I wouldn't say activated but more of enable to work after it is truely activated....i.e. provisioning etc. they mean you will be able to use sprint....correct me if i am wrong.

__________________
-600 w/ sprint-

SprintTreo600 is offline Old Post 10-07-2003 08:14 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for SprintTreo600 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
MHR
Member

Registered: Sep 2003
Location:
Posts: 3

quote:
Originally posted by SprintTreo600
if you opened a new line of service with sprint then it comes "activated" I wouldn't say activated but more of enable to work after it is truely activated....i.e. provisioning etc. they mean you will be able to use sprint....correct me if i am wrong.


Thanks. Now, what is "provisioning"? You're all very, very helpful.

MHR is offline Old Post 10-07-2003 08:18 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for MHR Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
chazglenn3
Member

Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Tacoma, WA, USA
Posts: 2

Provisioning is activating it on the data network...vision.

__________________
Charles

chazglenn3 is offline Old Post 10-07-2003 08:22 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for chazglenn3 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
rventuri
Member

Registered: Jan 2003
Location:
Posts: 3

Looks Like I Got the First BAD One

Unfortunately ... The Treo 600 I received today appears to be defective. The radio will not turn on. I get the Sprint screen with welcome at the bottom for about 20 seconds, then the device resets in Wireless Mode Off.

The radio turned on when I first got it, but after that it will not turn on at all. I have tried both soft resets, hard resets, and calling tech support (they have no clue).

So I guess it will have to go back for a replacement ... figures.

I hope this is not a sign of things to come.

rventuri is offline Old Post 10-07-2003 08:25 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for rventuri Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Mol
Member

Registered: Nov 2002
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 17

Re: Looks Like I Got the First BAD One

quote:
Originally posted by rventuri
Unfortunately ... The Treo 600 I received today appears to be defective. The radio will not turn on. I get the Sprint screen with welcome at the bottom for about 20 seconds, then the device resets in Wireless Mode Off.

The radio turned on when I first got it, but after that it will not turn on at all. I have tried both soft resets, hard resets, and calling tech support (they have no clue).

So I guess it will have to go back for a replacement ... figures.

I hope this is not a sign of things to come.



This post set off all sorts of internal alarms in my head. Especially after the rumor that Orange has recalled the stock from shops last minute.

Maybe I am going to be more patient than I thought I'd be.

Of course, the minute I can buy it from the HS site I will have all forgotten about this.

Mol is offline Old Post 10-07-2003 09:42 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Mol Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
MHR
Member

Registered: Sep 2003
Location:
Posts: 3

quote:
Originally posted by MHR


Thanks. Now, what is "provisioning"? You're all very, very helpful.



My phone is all done. I never called anyone. I was messing around with it and it let me know that it wanted to provision itself. Took about 5 min. Back to playing.

MHR is offline Old Post 10-07-2003 09:45 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for MHR Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
JoshFink
Member

Registered: Oct 2003
Location:
Posts: 4

For those that have activated the phone, what did they ask you to type in the phone itself?

They just wanted me to enter my phone number in the phone number field and my phone number again in the MSID field.

It's been about 30 minutes and it's still not active.. Should I worry?

Thanks

Josh

JoshFink is offline Old Post 10-07-2003 10:09 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for JoshFink Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
tjd414
Member

Registered: Jun 2003
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 29

Re: Looks Like I Got the First BAD One

quote:
Originally posted by rventuri
Unfortunately ... The Treo 600 I received today appears to be defective. The radio will not turn on. I get the Sprint screen with welcome at the bottom for about 20 seconds, then the device resets in Wireless Mode Off.

The radio turned on when I first got it, but after that it will not turn on at all. I have tried both soft resets, hard resets, and calling tech support (they have no clue).

So I guess it will have to go back for a replacement ... figures.

I hope this is not a sign of things to come.



I know this is probably a dumb question ... did you charge your phone completely before your turned it on?

Sometimes, in all of our excitement, we forget the basics.

Did the same with my 300 when I got it. Called Sprint ... they asked, did you charge it first? Boy did I feel stupid! They must have had a good laugh when I hung up!

__________________
Today's Oxymoron: 12oz Pound Cake

tjd414 is offline Old Post 10-07-2003 10:09 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for tjd414 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
JD007
Member

Registered: Oct 2003
Location:
Posts: 3

quote:
Originally posted by JoshFink
For those that have activated the phone, what did they ask you to type in the phone itself?

They just wanted me to enter my phone number in the phone number field and my phone number again in the MSID field.

It's been about 30 minutes and it's still not active.. Should I worry?

Thanks

Josh



I needed to enter ##nnnnnn (n=number) then hit the call button, then you enter the phone number in the two fields. The Sprint rep will tell you the six digit number to enter after the 2 # symbolys.

JD007 is offline Old Post 10-07-2003 10:27 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for JD007 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
SprintTreo600
Member

Registered: Sep 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 13

Re: Looks Like I Got the First BAD One

quote:
Originally posted by rventuri
Unfortunately ... The Treo 600 I received today appears to be defective. The radio will not turn on. I get the Sprint screen with welcome at the bottom for about 20 seconds, then the device resets in Wireless Mode Off.

The radio turned on when I first got it, but after that it will not turn on at all. I have tried both soft resets, hard resets, and calling tech support (they have no clue).

So I guess it will have to go back for a replacement ... figures.

I hope this is not a sign of things to come.




not activated on sprints network, programming error...walk into sprint and have them reprogram it.

__________________
-600 w/ sprint-

SprintTreo600 is offline Old Post 10-07-2003 10:29 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for SprintTreo600 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
JoshFink
Member

Registered: Oct 2003
Location:
Posts: 4

quote:
Originally posted by JD007


I needed to enter ##nnnnnn (n=number) then hit the call button, then you enter the phone number in the two fields. The Sprint rep will tell you the six digit number to enter after the 2 # symbolys.



Actually, that's what he did.. Sorry I forgot to mention that..

Put in ## and then numbers.. Hit ENTER and then entered my phone number in the two fields..

how long did it take for you to get activated?

Josh

JoshFink is offline Old Post 10-07-2003 10:29 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for JoshFink Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 04:51 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
 Pages (2): [1] 2 » Last Thread   Next Thread
[ Show a Printable Version | Email This Page to Someone! | Receive updates to this thread ]

Forum Jump:

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.4
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.