news | articles | reviews | software | modules | accessories | discussion | faq | mobile | store
VisorCentral.com >> Discussion >> Visor Models >> Visor Edge
what the..hey?!?!

Post a New Thread | Post A Reply

  Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Topic: what the..hey?!?!    
Hoser_back_home
VisorCentral Staff

Registered: Nov 1999
Location: bright side of the moon.
Posts: 996

what the..hey?!?!

I put my edge into the cradle tonight to top off the battery, did a sync and the light happily blinked. I looked at the TV for a second and when i looked back, the LED was off?!?!?!

I turned on the edge and it worked fine. The battery level was full so I'm guessing that it topped off the battery alright, but I can't get the LED to start 'blinking' or even turn on again.

I created a silent alarm and the LED blinked so that isn't the problem. I'm trying to drain the battery a bit to see if it's charging and it's just the light that's not blinking during the charge. (UPDATE: it's not re-charging....so this is it...once this charge is through, my edge is dead....depressing, like knowing you have a few hours to live )

I've done countless soft and 1 hard reset with no success.

Is it possible that topping off the battery caused something to 'overcharge' and i've essentially killed the re-charging capabilities of my edge?

Doesn't make sense.

__________________
Ever feel like the train left while you were busy reading the paper?

Stealth-Mod.

Hoser_back_home is offline Old Post 11-15-2002 03:52 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Hoser_back_home Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
visorprismman
Member

Registered: Apr 2002
Location: New York City
Posts: 234

Talking Try a in cradle reset.

Hey,

If you look on www.handspring.com and search for recharging problems it says something about a incradle reset. This resets the charging circuitry in the handheld. This is what you do: keep the edge in the cradle and lean it far enough out of the cradle without disconnecting it and hit the reset pin. An easier way is to use a program to force reset your device. Only programs I can think of at the moment are silverscreen and megalauncher which have options to soft reset your device. You can do this while the device is sitting in the cradle if you have trouble doing it manually.

__________________
Cheers

visorprismman is offline Old Post 11-15-2002 04:21 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for visorprismman Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Hoser_back_home
VisorCentral Staff

Registered: Nov 1999
Location: bright side of the moon.
Posts: 996

you'll never guess....it worked!

thanks bud! I was racking my brain doing soft and hard resets all over the place and none of them worked...infact after the hard reset, i was getting Fatal Exceptions everytime i pressed the power button!!!

now comes the aggrevating part...my job forces me to think in a 'root cause' frame of mind...so, with this solution i've solved the symptoms...now what caused it to begin with????

anybody with any ideas?

__________________
Ever feel like the train left while you were busy reading the paper?

Stealth-Mod.

Hoser_back_home is offline Old Post 11-15-2002 11:19 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Hoser_back_home Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 04:44 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
[ Show a Printable Version | Email This Page to Someone! | Receive updates to this thread ]

Forum Jump:

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.4
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.