news | articles | reviews | software | modules | accessories | discussion | faq | mobile | store
VisorCentral.com >> Discussion >> Visor Models >> Visor Edge
My Edge isn't working!!!

Post a New Thread | Post A Reply

Pages (3): [1] 2 3 »   Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Topic: My Edge isn't working!!!    Pages (3): [1] 2 3 »
sfhustler
Member

Registered: Sep 2001
Location:
Posts: 13

My Edge isn't working!!!

Seems like the screen froze, whenever I tap anywhere on the screen a little menu on the upper left corner comes down. I can't do anything! I tried a reset but that didn't do anything. Please help.

sfhustler is offline Old Post 10-02-2001 12:47 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for sfhustler Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
dick-richardson
Member

Registered: Oct 2000
Location: Aberdeen, SD
Posts: 2531

Hard reset, then call for a replacement.

__________________
-Joshua
Abortion: Darwinism at its finest.

dick-richardson is offline Old Post 10-02-2001 10:35 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for dick-richardson Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
septimus
VisorCentral Staff

Registered: Feb 2001
Location: Them Twin Cities
Posts: 1758

1. hard reset: Hit the reset button while holding down the power button. You'll know you've done it b/c it will ask you if you want to lose all your data (hit "up" button for yes).

2. Run the digitizer 3 or 4 times.

3. have them replace it. Handspring's quality control (esp. on the Edge) often leaves something to be desired.

__________________
Don't like somebody? Click "Profile" on a post and then click "Ignore "so and so's" posts". Voila!

septimus is offline Old Post 10-02-2001 11:51 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for septimus Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
dick-richardson
Member

Registered: Oct 2000
Location: Aberdeen, SD
Posts: 2531

quote:
Originally posted by dietrichbohn
(esp. on the Edge)

Rather, on any 'new' device (Neo and possibly Pro withstanding - proven technology). I went through a round of getting bad VDX's when I my first one went bad, then again with the prism shortly after they were released. The edge is still in the 'ironing' stage. What works on a couple test demos is not indicitive of what will work on a mass production scale.

__________________
-Joshua
Abortion: Darwinism at its finest.

dick-richardson is offline Old Post 10-03-2001 03:07 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for dick-richardson Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Toby
Member

Registered: Jul 2000
Location:
Posts: 3034

Angry I feel your pain

After ~5 months of faithful service, my Edge has evidently succumbed to the same problem. The pissening (yes, I'm making up words) thing about it is that I used it this morning, and postponed backing up until I had entered some items into my to-do list. It was when I went to turn it on a few minutes ago to actually back them up that the behavior started. The hardware buttons still work, though, so I suppose I should be able to sync and save the data when I get home before hard resetting.

Toby is offline Old Post 10-03-2001 09:00 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Toby Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Toby
Member

Registered: Jul 2000
Location:
Posts: 3034

Re: I feel your pain

quote:
Originally posted by Toby
After ~5 months of faithful service, my Edge has evidently succumbed to the same problem. The pissening (yes, I'm making up words) thing about it is that I used it this morning, and postponed backing up until I had entered some items into my to-do list. It was when I went to turn it on a few minutes ago to actually back them up that the behavior started. The hardware buttons still work, though, so I suppose I should be able to sync and save the data when I get home before hard resetting.
Oog...hard reset and still no response from the digitizer. It just keeps looping asking me to tap in alternating corners. Sonofab*tch. Maybe it's time I consider putting my Edge up for sale and getting something else.

Toby is offline Old Post 10-04-2001 02:57 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Toby Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
dwrd
Member

Registered: Jul 2001
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 32

That same thing happened to me with my second Edge. Eventually the battery ran out and it would not charge. Time to call for a replacement.

dwrd is offline Old Post 10-04-2001 06:37 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for dwrd Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
dick-richardson
Member

Registered: Oct 2000
Location: Aberdeen, SD
Posts: 2531

Re: Re: I feel your pain

quote:
Originally posted by Toby
Maybe it's time I consider putting my Edge up for sale and getting something else.

I'm interested in your final decision.

__________________
-Joshua
Abortion: Darwinism at its finest.

dick-richardson is offline Old Post 10-04-2001 08:18 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for dick-richardson Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Toby
Member

Registered: Jul 2000
Location:
Posts: 3034

Angry Now I feel _my_ pain

quote:
Originally posted by dick-richardson
I'm interested in your final decision.
At this point, it isn't looking positive for a Handspring device. I turned the thing off after the hard reset last night and stuck it into my backpack to call tech support this morning. It was fully charged (according to the charging LED when I took it out of the cradle). I called Handspring's toll charge tech support (which I'll rant about in a sec) and told the person who answered what I had done (soft reset and hard reset with no apparent change in behavior). Somehow this didn't seem to count and they wanted me to soft and hard reset again (like their being on the phone makes it count more). The only problem is that when I pulled the Visor out of my bag, it wouldn't turn on anymore (battery is apparently dead). My cradle is (of course) at home, and I'm at work. Now I have to wait until after work and call again.

Now for the reeeeeaaally pissening part. According to the holdbot, Handspring has now instituted a $20 pay-per-incident support charge if you've owned your visor more than 90 days. Gah! It's enough to drive a man to another manufacturer. I wonder how Handera's QC has been...

Toby is offline Old Post 10-04-2001 06:41 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Toby Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
dick-richardson
Member

Registered: Oct 2000
Location: Aberdeen, SD
Posts: 2531

Re: Now I feel _my_ pain

quote:
Originally posted by Toby
At this point, it isn't looking positive for a Handspring device....

Man! I'd guess not. To put it bluntly - it'd be a cold day in hell before I'd pay $20 for their friendly, but piss-poor tech support.

I wouldn't have dealt with them after a hard reset. I'd have called the 888 number and argued my case with them.

Handspring seems to be trying various mixes of quality devices, decent tech support, and various prices to see where they can skimp. They can't.

__________________
-Joshua
Abortion: Darwinism at its finest.

dick-richardson is offline Old Post 10-04-2001 07:17 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for dick-richardson Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Toby
Member

Registered: Jul 2000
Location:
Posts: 3034

Re: Re: Now I feel _my_ pain

quote:
Originally posted by dick-richardson
I wouldn't have dealt with them after a hard reset. I'd have called the 888 number and argued my case with them.
Actually, I started out with the 888 number. They told me I had to call tech support. Of course, I wasn't as adamant with them last night as I will be when I call back tonight.
quote:
Handspring seems to be trying various mixes of quality devices, decent tech support, and various prices to see where they can skimp. They can't.

Correct. The Handera has dropped their price within the past few days. It's becoming difficult to resist. Anyone remember the name of the other vendor besides GetHighTech.com that buys PDAs?

Toby is offline Old Post 10-04-2001 07:46 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Toby Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Toby
Member

Registered: Jul 2000
Location:
Posts: 3034

Incidentally, the total battery drain seems to have fixed the problem for some unknown reason. At least I've got a good backup now between my restore of the last backup combined with a "Desktop overwrites handheld" sync. I still plan to call Handspring Customer Care, though. This behavior is simply unacceptable.

Toby is offline Old Post 10-05-2001 01:01 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Toby Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
sfhustler
Member

Registered: Sep 2001
Location:
Posts: 13

THe guy told me to run the battery down, but how the hell am I supposed to do that? It has a 4 week life! I need the damn thing ready now!

sfhustler is offline Old Post 10-05-2001 05:29 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for sfhustler Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Toby
Member

Registered: Jul 2000
Location:
Posts: 3034

quote:
Originally posted by sfhustler
THe guy told me to run the battery down, but how the hell am I supposed to do that? It has a 4 week life! I need the damn thing ready now!
Handspring's tech support told you that running the battery down would fix it? Did they happen to tell you _why_ it would fix it. I'm not sure what makes me more uncomfortable, the fact that this is common enough for the support guy you got to know what would 'fix' it, or that it's common enough that it might happen again.

BTW, I'm not sure exactly how my battery ran down overnight, so I can't really offer any advice on that. I suppose you'd just have to keep turning it on. The four week battery life is only with typical usage of a couple minutes at a time several times per day. Keeping it on constantly will kill your batteries quick enough.

Toby is offline Old Post 10-05-2001 02:42 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Toby Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Toby
Member

Registered: Jul 2000
Location:
Posts: 3034

OK, I tried to send the following via Handspring's web interface and it was too long, so I sent it to support@handspring.com. For some odd reason, though, they no longer post email addresses on the website, so I'm not sure if it'll get through. If I don't have even a canned response by Monday, someone from 'Customer Care' is likely to receive an earful.

To whom it may concern:

I am writing this in an effort to try to salvage a customer relationship that has been sorely damaged over the past couple of days. I purchased my first Visor Deluxe in June of 2000, and purchased one for my wife shortly thereafter in September. I have recommended Visors to countless friends and business associates as I'm a technical professional and people often seek my advice on such purchases. In April of 2001, I started having trouble with my Ice Visor Deluxe. I had been observing many stories on VisorCentral.com and Usenet of some Visor Deluxes (especially the Ice ones) having problems with case cracking near the power button. When I checked mine, I noticed the same case defect had apparently happened to mine. A call to tech support turned up that this was evidently common to some early runs and a replacement was sent out. Now given that my Visor has become an important repository of information for me, I thought that I should see if a more durable option didn't exist. Handspring had just produced the Edge which was a thinner form factor and had an aluminum case. This fit the bill perfectly.

I ordered an Edge on approximately April 30th, 2001 (purchased directly from Handspring, so I'm sure it can be looked up easily). It arrived a couple of days later, and for all intents and purposes seemed to work fine. However, there were several users on VisorCentral.com who reported serious problems with the digitizer (several links included shortly). My Edge apparently had no such defect initially.

However, two days ago when I turned my Visor on to enter a memopad entry and then backup my Visor, wherever I tapped on the screen only brought up the menu command. Since I could not afford to lose data since the last backup, I turned it off until I could sync at my house. After syncing later that evening, I performed a soft reset. This did not fix it, so I performed a hard reset. When I then tried to recalibrate the digitizer, it would only alternate back and forth between the upper left and lower right crosshairs. Obviously the problem was still not fixed.

I then called Customer Care to see what my options might be. After trying to relay the steps I had already performed and querying about a replacement, I was informed that I would have to call Tech Support. Unfortunately, I did not have time at the moment to go through another phone queue waiting for a representative. Since the battery light was showing solid indicating a full charge, I simply turned the Edge off and put it into my backpack to speak to Tech Support the next morning.

The next morning, I called Tech Support and as expected, they requested that I perform a soft reset and then a hard reset. Unfortunately, I could not, as somehow the battery had drained itself overnight despite the unit being off. Also, considering that my cradle was at home, I had no way to charge it. The tech support person told me that the steps I had already performed didn't mean anything, and that I would just have to call back when I was near my cradle.

When I arrived at home that night, I placed the Edge into the cradle to begin recharging. Evidently the battery drain 'fixed' the problem because when the calibration screen appeared this time, it accepted input. Now, here is where we get to the meat of the issue. I have no idea what caused this behavior, hence I have no assurance that it won't happen again tomorrow, next week, or next month. This is simply unacceptable behavior from a device which I purchased for $400 and change. What's more disturbing is that it appears to be endemic to the device. The following links show users who have all had the same or extremely similar problems:
http://discussion.visorcentral.com/...=edge+digitizer
http://discussion.visorcentral.com/...=edge+digitizer
http://discussion.visorcentral.com/...=edge+digitizer
http://discussion.visorcentral.com/...=edge+digitizer
http://discussion.visorcentral.com/...=edge+digitizer
http://discussion.visorcentral.com/...=edge+digitizer
http://www.jimweller.net/article.php?sid=15

Now considering this, what can we do to solve my immediate problem (lack of faith in the reliability of my Edge), and hopefully continue my faith in Handspring as a vendor to continue recommending them to my friends (and incidentally to my wife who will likely be upgrading from her Visor Deluxe early in 2002) and associates?

Thank you for your time,
Toby
[contact information elided]

Toby is offline Old Post 10-05-2001 09:05 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Toby Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
dick-richardson
Member

Registered: Oct 2000
Location: Aberdeen, SD
Posts: 2531

quote:
Originally posted by Toby
BTW, I'm not sure exactly how my battery ran down overnight, so I can't really offer any advice on that. I suppose you'd just have to keep turning it on. The four week battery life is only with typical usage of a couple minutes at a time several times per day. Keeping it on constantly will kill your batteries quick enough.


I'd call the 888 number. Tell them you've dealt with Tech Support and your issue hasn't been resolved. Get a replacement. One of my edge's had the problem you mention, and like yours it was fine after the battery drained (phenomenally fast as well). For a day.

There are good ones - and being one of the few that spent $400 for it, you should be entitled to one of them.

__________________
-Joshua
Abortion: Darwinism at its finest.

dick-richardson is offline Old Post 10-06-2001 07:50 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for dick-richardson Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Toby
Member

Registered: Jul 2000
Location:
Posts: 3034

quote:
Originally posted by dick-richardson
I'd call the 888 number.
At this point, I'm probably a bit too annoyed to deal with them over the phone.
quote:
Tell them you've dealt with Tech Support and your issue hasn't been resolved.

Well, I cc:ed Customer Care in the email I just sent.
quote:
Get a replacement.

You see, that's kind of the problem. I don't think _they_ know what's causing the problem, hence, there's no way to say that the replacement won't do the same thing. I can't afford to play around with a string of replacements like the guy in the last link I posted.
quote:
One of my edge's had the problem you mention, and like yours it was fine after the battery drained (phenomenally fast as well). For a day.

Then it started again? Wonderful. Doesn't do much for my confidence level.
quote:
There are good ones - and being one of the few that spent $400 for it, you should be entitled to one of them.

One would think. At this point, I wonder if I'm not better off pushing for either a refund or a Pro (since I've not heard of problems with them yet, but I suppose that could be because their sales might be worse than the Edges), though. Here's the reply I received (in italics along with my response). If this doesn't elicit something positive, I'm considering going to MaximumPC's Watchdog along with PC World's consumer watch. After all, the previous threads and complaints here and other places didn't seem to help find a fix for the problem, so obviously my complaining here probably wouldn't make the difference.

quote:

Hi [name elided],

Thank you for your email.

You're welcome, but I'm not sure the problem was communicated clearly. If there's someone else that I should be directing this problem to, please let me know who it is, so that I can get a solution.

Try the different forms of Visor resets (try soft, then system and finally hard) until the operation system behaves normally again.

I did try the different forms of resets, and the behavior wasn't fixed. Whatever drained the battery following the hard reset apparently stopped the behavior, but since the cause of the problem is unknown, I have no assurance that it will not happen again. Further considering the links provided in my original email (reproduced here with URLs condensed for convenience), this seems to be a relatively common occurrence.

http://discussion.visorcentral.com/...?threadid=13486
http://discussion.visorcentral.com/...?threadid=13360
http://discussion.visorcentral.com/...?threadid=13638
http://discussion.visorcentral.com/...?threadid=13424
http://discussion.visorcentral.com/...?threadid=18673
http://discussion.visorcentral.com/...?threadid=18746
http://www.jimweller.net/article.php?sid=15

Should the Visor still be stuck in the Digitizer program with no reasonable hope of recovery, contact your retailer or Handspring Customer Care for a Visor replacement.

I'm sorry that a full explanation required such length, but I did state the Edge was purchased directly from Handspring on April 30, 2001 (Order# [elided]). I am cc:ing this response to Customer Care as well in hopes that they may be able to help resolve this. The problem is that, at this point, I am not under the impression that a replacement Edge will help matters since this seems to be endemic to the line. All that I'm seeking is either an answer as to why this seems to be happening to so many Edges (in the hopes that a permanent fix might be found) or an avenue to get a PDA to which this won't happen. As I said though, I'm really not very confident in the Edge line at the moment without a pretty good explanation and confidence level that it won't happen to the replacement. If another comparable Visor is not an option, then I would like to know what my options are regarding a refund. After all, I'm one of the few people who had confidence enough in Handspring to purchase the Edge in the limited time that it was at its highest price.

You may make an inquiry with Handspring Customer Care using our web based form at http://www.handspring.com/ or in North America, phone us at 1-888-565-9393. They are open from 9:00AM-9:00PM, Monday to Friday. Saturdays from 12:00PM-4:00PM. Sundays closed.

When contacting Customer Care, have your billing information at hand and a pen and paper ready to take down a Return Authorization (RA) number and/or shipping tracking number. Your representative can also review with you any relevant issues involving your Handspring product warranty.

Toby is offline Old Post 10-06-2001 05:08 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Toby Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
dick-richardson
Member

Registered: Oct 2000
Location: Aberdeen, SD
Posts: 2531

I started playing the "return bad edge for another bad edge" right off the bat - until I got a decent one. Then I crushed it (screen survived, thank God) and got another one that was perfect a couple of months later. I'm thinking most of the glitches have been worked out. Obviously, I have no way to tell conclusively.

__________________
-Joshua
Abortion: Darwinism at its finest.

dick-richardson is offline Old Post 10-06-2001 11:54 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for dick-richardson Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Toby
Member

Registered: Jul 2000
Location:
Posts: 3034

quote:
Originally posted by dick-richardson
I started playing the "return bad edge for another bad edge" right off the bat - until I got a decent one. Then I crushed it (screen survived, thank God) and got another one that was perfect a couple of months later. I'm thinking most of the glitches have been worked out. Obviously, I have no way to tell conclusively.
That's where my concern lies, though. The new ones may certainly not have the issue anymore, but if I get a replacement, it will almost certainly be a refurb. Considering that they don't seem to know what's the problem, though, I'm wondering if they're not just discharging refurbs and considering them 'fixed'. Maybe that's why people that have gotten replacements seem to have strings of them with the same problem?

Toby is offline Old Post 10-07-2001 10:21 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Toby Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Toby
Member

Registered: Jul 2000
Location:
Posts: 3034

Well, this morning I received an email that my case was escalated, and I should hear back from someone within a 'few business days'. I guess we'll see what happens...

Toby is offline Old Post 10-08-2001 06:28 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Toby Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 04:44 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
 Pages (3): [1] 2 3 » Last Thread   Next Thread
[ Show a Printable Version | Email This Page to Someone! | Receive updates to this thread ]

Forum Jump:

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.4
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.