news | articles | reviews | software | modules | accessories | discussion | faq | mobile | store
VisorCentral.com >> Discussion >> Visor Models >> Visor Platinum
Would you buy another Visor Platinum

Post a New Thread | Post A Reply

  Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Topic: Would you buy another Visor Platinum    
Graeme
Member

Registered: Jul 2001
Location: Brisbane, Qld, Australia
Posts: 3

Would you buy another Visor Platinum

Hi.

I'm giving very serious thought to buying a Visor Platinum.

If you have one, are you happy enough with it to consider buying another one?

I'd also like to know how well the keyboard works with them?

The only issue I'll have with it is that my computer doesn't have a USB port.

Graeme is offline Old Post 07-26-2001 12:06 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Graeme Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
RadarGreg
Member

Registered: Mar 2000
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 85

I have both a Visor Deluxe and a Platinum. Of the two, buy the Platinum. It has the latest OS available from Handspring and is faster than the Deluxe. I probably wouldn't buy a second one since I have two PDAs, and am waiting for something like the Edge but in color. I have used my Stowaway keyboard with both my organizers and it performs very well. The keyboard from GoType had buttons that felt too small and I like the way the Stowaway folds up for storage.

The lack of USB shouldn't be a problem if you order your with the serial cradle. You will miss out on the faster syncing speed of USB, but it works just fine. If you really want USB, and have either Windows 98 or a newer OS, then you can get an add in PCI card for your computer that will give you a couple USB ports.

When you order your Platinum, also consider ordering the Backup module. It will backup your entire 8 meg memory and restore it in case you have to do a hard reset or your batteries run out. The cost is only $40 and it is really a life (data) saver!

__________________
The following space intentionally left blank...

RadarGreg

RadarGreg is offline Old Post 07-26-2001 12:32 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for RadarGreg Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Graeme
Member

Registered: Jul 2001
Location: Brisbane, Qld, Australia
Posts: 3

I looked at the backup module on the Handspring site. But our dollar isn't doing well agains the US dollar and as a result, the backup modules are $129 here, so Hotsyncing will have to do.

Thanks for your comments on the Platinum. The price of those has just dropped here. They used to be $789 but now they're $619. (And 1 Australian dollar buys just under 51 US cents if you're interested)

Graeme is offline Old Post 07-26-2001 12:54 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Graeme Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
hloakes
Member

Registered: Jan 2000
Location:
Posts: 152

I bought mine when my VDX quite working. I am glad I have it and if I had to replaceit I would buy another one. I did not realize how much faster it was until I tried to do something on my wife's IIIx.

If you can, get the USB installed on your computer. I think a USB card is about $30 USD. It is also much faster.

__________________
Howard

hloakes is offline Old Post 07-26-2001 10:35 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for hloakes Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
quasihuman
Member

Registered: Jul 2001
Location:
Posts: 12

I love my VPL, but I'm sorry to say that if I had to choose, I would buy a Sony Clie PEG-320. The Sony has 4MB of on board FLASH ROM (something which Handspring refuses to offer, which would make their PDAs the best around) for OS updates. The Sony also has OS 4.0 and is rechargeable (it is comparable to the EDGE, but cheaper).

quasihuman is offline Old Post 07-27-2001 05:28 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for quasihuman Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
namja
Member

Registered: Feb 2001
Location:
Posts: 268

quote:
Originally posted by quasihuman
I love my VPL, but I'm sorry to say that if I had to choose, I would buy a Sony Clie PEG-320. The Sony has 4MB of on board FLASH ROM (something which Handspring refuses to offer, which would make their PDAs the best around) for OS updates. The Sony also has OS 4.0 and is rechargeable (it is comparable to the EDGE, but cheaper).

Ditto. When I first got the Plat, I used the springboard slot a lot (I have 3 modules). But that was more a novelty thing and the only thing that I use (and seldomly at that) is the backup module.

I'd take the Clie for the exact reasons stated by quasihuman.

namja is offline Old Post 07-31-2001 08:29 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for namja Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
dorelse
Member

Registered: Apr 2001
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 248

I'll tell you, I've have every Visor model made so far, including the Edge. And I went back to the Platinum from the edge. I've even had the Compaq iPaq 3650, Jornada HP 548 & 525.

The Platinum is my PDA of choice simply b/c I don't need the expensive PocketPC's, don't need a color screen, and didn't like the detachable springboard on the Edge. Although, the Edge in itself was my favorite Visor, but I carry the MemPlug CF in mine all the time, and that detachable springboard doesn't allow the screen protection once its in...so back to the Platinum. So, for now, the Platinum is in my opinion the best you can buy for the money.

dorelse is offline Old Post 07-31-2001 03:02 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for dorelse Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
namja
Member

Registered: Feb 2001
Location:
Posts: 268

quote:
Originally posted by dorelse
So, for now, the Platinum is in my opinion the best you can buy for the money.

Perhaps. I'd probably get the Plat again if I can get it for cheap again (I paid $200 for mine in January this year). But if money was not an issue, I'd probably go for the Clie.

namja is offline Old Post 07-31-2001 06:25 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for namja Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
dorelse
Member

Registered: Apr 2001
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 248

Well, maybe, I've never played with the Clie. I'm not a fan of the memory stick, I prefer CF to Sony's Memory stick...remember BetaMax? I do.

dorelse is offline Old Post 07-31-2001 08:13 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for dorelse Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Fuzzball
Member

Registered: Oct 2000
Location:
Posts: 15

I had the DLX and traded it for a Plat. I got my Stowaway keyboard when I had my DLX and then used it on my Plat. No problems. Really, I'm like most of the people here and just enjoy the Plat. The faster CPU does help especiall for me since I use a lot of DOC files that need to be compressed and uncompressed.

cheers
-Fuzzball

__________________
___________________________________

rm -rf /bin/laden

Fuzzball is offline Old Post 08-10-2001 12:47 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Fuzzball Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
ProxyWizard
Member

Registered: Aug 2001
Location:
Posts: 3

I really like my Visor Platinum. It's fast, has the 8 MB of memory (which is a lot better than 2 on the DLX), and is still pretty inexpensive. The CLIE is slick, but who uses Memory Stick (besides Sony employees)? And I have Springboard modules that I use frequently. So, the Platinum is the clear choice in my opinion.

ProxyWizard is offline Old Post 08-21-2001 08:16 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for ProxyWizard Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Techie2000
Member

Registered: Aug 2001
Location:
Posts: 383

VDx has 8MB. Visor and Visor Solo have 2Mb.

Techie2000 is offline Old Post 08-22-2001 05:26 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Techie2000 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
serene
Member

Registered: Aug 2001
Location:
Posts: 1

Hi -
I have a Platinum, had a deluxe, but gave it to my partner when he saw the light and wanted a PDA too. I LOVE my platinum, and just added the Visorphone because I wanted to be able to dial from my address book without juggling two pieces of equipment.

The platinum is noticeably faster than the deluxe.

serene is offline Old Post 08-30-2001 02:52 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for serene Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
mtnlya
Member

Registered: Aug 2000
Location: CA
Posts: 9

Thumbs up

I LOVE my VPL! I would not hesitate to buy it again although I might opt to get the Prism as color would be nice. I originally had a VDX and it was ok, but the VPL screams! It is so much faster and the upgraded OS is an improvement. For memory, I use the MemPlug Springboard and a 16 MB SM card. It is serving me well and I have no complaints! Go for it!

Lorraine

mtnlya is offline Old Post 08-30-2001 04:09 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for mtnlya Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
EJSHUMAK
Member

Registered: Aug 2001
Location: ILLINOIS
Posts: 227

I would definately buy another Plat -- I have been totally satisfied. Granted -- there are benefits to other units--
I have an Edge for the form factor and I would love a "color Edge" -- but for the price and function I would not want to be without the Plat.

I use the Edge alot but I also need a unit with more memory -- ie the springboard modules -- so I use both.

EJSHUMAK is offline Old Post 09-09-2001 08:31 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for EJSHUMAK Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
dalede
Member

Registered: Oct 2001
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 5

Re: Would you buy another Visor Platinum

quote:
Originally posted by Graeme
Hi.

I'm giving very serious thought to buying a Visor Platinum.

If you have one, are you happy enough with it to consider buying another one?

I'd also like to know how well the keyboard works with them?

The only issue I'll have with it is that my computer doesn't have a USB port.



I have a platinum and use NT so I have to use the serial port. It works well for me. I have two memplug cards and a magellan gps so I guess the expansion slot is pretty important for me. The only problem I have had is that the serial port on the platinum won't supply any power to external adapters so some of the adapter cables that work with other Visors won't work on the platinum. This is the only real design flaw I have seen so far. Perhaps the new pro doesn't have this problem.

Dale

dalede is offline Old Post 10-02-2001 02:29 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for dalede Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
namja
Member

Registered: Feb 2001
Location:
Posts: 268

would you still buy another Platinum ... now that the Prism is $299?

namja is offline Old Post 10-02-2001 07:40 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for namja Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
EJSHUMAK
Member

Registered: Aug 2001
Location: ILLINOIS
Posts: 227

Arrow EDGE

I would buy another EDGE now that the EDGE in $299----

EJSHUMAK is offline Old Post 10-03-2001 05:16 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for EJSHUMAK Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
dick-richardson
Member

Registered: Oct 2000
Location: Aberdeen, SD
Posts: 2531

what advantage does the platinum have over the neo? All seems equal save fast lookup.

__________________
-Joshua
Abortion: Darwinism at its finest.

dick-richardson is offline Old Post 10-03-2001 05:54 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for dick-richardson Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Graeme
Member

Registered: Jul 2001
Location: Brisbane, Qld, Australia
Posts: 3

quote:
Originally posted by namja
would you still buy another Platinum ... now that the Prism is $299?


The price of the Prism hasn't changed in Australia at all. They're still $979. (Two of our dollars buys one US dollar).

Graeme is offline Old Post 10-03-2001 08:54 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Graeme Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 04:45 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
[ Show a Printable Version | Email This Page to Someone! | Receive updates to this thread ]

Forum Jump:

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.4
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.