news | articles | reviews | software | modules | accessories | discussion | faq | mobile | store
VisorCentral.com >> Discussion >> Visor Models >> Visor Neo & Visor Pro
neo, palmOS

Post a New Thread | Post A Reply

  Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Topic: neo, palmOS    
savo
Member

Registered: Apr 2003
Location:
Posts: 2

neo, palmOS

I have a neo with PalmOS v. 3.5.2H3.0
I heard that the OS is in ROM or Flash ROM is that trure? Does that Mean i can't get a new version of the OS on it?
If i can, How?

savo

savo is offline Old Post 05-03-2003 09:15 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for savo Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
cml
Member

Registered: Aug 2002
Location: Vermont
Posts: 148

Yes, the Palm OS in all Visors is stored in non-flashable ROM, which means the operating system is not completely upgradeable.

However, software patches stored in RAM can solve problems with the OS. They are released by Handspring and I don't believe one has been released for the Neo.

- CML

cml is offline Old Post 05-03-2003 12:27 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for cml Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
alight
Member

Registered: Jul 2002
Location:
Posts: 120

quote:
Originally posted by cml
They are released by Handspring and I don't believe one has been released for the Neo.

- CML



Handspring hasn't released a patch for the Neo because nothing, thank goodness, needs to be patched.

Way to go, NEO ... the classic. I know I sound like an advertisement, but I enjoy mine so much.

alight is offline Old Post 05-05-2003 12:02 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for alight Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
ByronC
Member

Registered: Nov 1999
Location: Oak Grove, Kentucky
Posts: 211

Thumbs up

quote:
Originally posted by alight
Handspring hasn't released a patch for the Neo because nothing, thank goodness, needs to be patched.

Way to go, NEO ... the classic. I know I sound like an advertisement, but I enjoy mine so much.



Hi,

I'm enjoying my Visor NEO too. Not to mention all these ebooks I got on it.



ByronC

__________________
<A HREF=http://www.xecu.net/bcollins/index.htm><IMG SRC=http://www.xecu.net/bcollins/BEBOOKEM.GIF>

ByronC is offline Old Post 04-17-2004 12:33 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for ByronC Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
ackmondual
Member

Registered: Aug 2002
Location:
Posts: 9

Besides, even if you could upgrade your os3 to say... os5, os5 requires additional hardware stuff that's not available on the Visor lines like 5-way nav and OMAP processor

ackmondual is offline Old Post 04-06-2005 05:10 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for ackmondual Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 05:11 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
[ Show a Printable Version | Email This Page to Someone! | Receive updates to this thread ]

Forum Jump:

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.4
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.