news | articles | reviews | software | modules | accessories | discussion | faq | mobile | store
VisorCentral.com >> Discussion >> Other Areas of Interest >> Off Topic
Anyone have a Archos mp3 jukebox???

Post a New Thread | Post A Reply

  Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Topic: Anyone have a Archos mp3 jukebox???    
ice5339
Member

Registered: Mar 2001
Location: Halifax, Canada
Posts: 36

Anyone have a Archos mp3 jukebox???

I was just wondering if anyone in this community has one of these archos mp3 jukeboxes.

http://www.archos.com/us/products/p...brecorders.html

Im thinking about purchasing one but since this is a little known brand I wanted to hear a owners review!!

I'm mainly looking at this as a portable 20gb hard drive but being able to play and record mp3's is not bad.

So if you have one, what do you think about it?????

ice5339 is offline Old Post 07-05-2002 06:11 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for ice5339 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
John Nowak
Member

Registered: Nov 1999
Location: Redwood City CA
Posts: 472

Re: Anyone have a Archos mp3 jukebox???

quote:
Originally posted by ice5339
I was just wondering if anyone in this community has one of these archos mp3 jukeboxes.


I don't have the jukebox, but I do have the Studio. The interface is quirky and you do need to read the manual to work it, but I've found it to be an excellent and useful device for playing MP3s and for backups.

John Nowak is offline Old Post 07-05-2002 03:47 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for John Nowak Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
ggibby
Member

Registered: Feb 2002
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 6

Archos JBR FM worth it for tinkers

I just received my Archos Jukebox Recorder FM, and thanks to the folks at Rockbox , who wrote a better OS/UI, I'm in love. Much like the early days with my Treo 180... every day I discover something new to be excited about (and two things I'd like to change), and integrate it more into my day.

As a student in an FM broadcasting course, the Archos is great for previewing tracks from the station library AND listening to/recording other djs on the air.

There are other 20GB MP3 FM units, but this was the best priced ($240 at J&R Music) and user-supported in my research. And evidently pretty easy to upgrade the HDD in this puppy.

Now if only I could find a way to add it to my Utility Belt... ;-)

-G

__________________
Impatience makes you UGLY.

ggibby is offline Old Post 10-13-2003 03:00 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for ggibby Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Alli
Member

Registered: Jul 2002
Location: Lower Alabama
Posts: 75

I've had an Archos 20 gig mp3 player for the better part of a year now, and I love it. It was an upgrade from a Nomad which, in comparison, is big and bulky. The only thing I dislike about the Archos is that you don't have much choice in the way your music is categorized/displayed. The Nomad classed everything for you.

__________________
I'm a blogger, he's a blogger, wouldn't ya like to be a blogger too.
T-Mo, Cingular 600, and very happy!

Alli is offline Old Post 10-13-2003 01:26 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Alli Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
ggibby
Member

Registered: Feb 2002
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 6

Better categorization in Rockbox?

You might try posting your fileview preference to the Rockbox Feature Requests page . I haven't seen that one (list/view by category), but I haven't looked for it. I know Rockbox does more with ID3 tags than the Archos software does.

Rockbox also offers user-definable views through .cfg files, but again, I haven't tinkered with that part of it (only had my Archos 4 days).

-G

__________________
Impatience makes you UGLY.

ggibby is offline Old Post 10-13-2003 04:55 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for ggibby Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
tc600
Member

Registered: Nov 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2

Any of the Archos MP3 player/recorders that can run Rockbox are great. The Rockbox crew has done a great job over the past 2 (?) years ... they've even managed to get their own video format to run on it. I've got a FM Recorder 20 that I use daily and love!

I also had a Jukebox Multimedia that I gave to my sister once I got the AV320 (which I upgraded to an AV360). There's now a project at avos.sf.net that is at the early stages of what the Rockbox crew did with the MP3 only player/recorders. If things work out, the Rockbox crew may be able to port onto the avOS platform!

tc600 is offline Old Post 02-06-2004 05:24 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for tc600 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
treo1
Member

Registered: Nov 2003
Location:
Posts: 10

I have and love the 320!
How hard was it to upgrade?
What tool did you use to get off the side piece?
I have read about , just wondering how hard it really was...
Jim

__________________
Jim@treo1.com
<a href="http://treo1.com">
treo1.com
One Stop, plain and simple
Now TreoCentrals Mobile Forums link on our Home page!
<a href="http://treo.discussion.treocentral.com/tcforum/">
<img border="0" src="http://palmoscentral.com/treo1/mfbutton5lg.jpg" width="90" height="36"></a>

treo1 is offline Old Post 02-06-2004 03:19 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for treo1 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
tc600
Member

Registered: Nov 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2

As I recall it took me a little bit of work to do the disassembly using an eyeglass-type screwdriver set to do the prying apart. You've got to take your time and be careful, as it is put together pretty tight, but it's certainly doable if you consider yourself an able tinkerer (i.e. build your own computer).

If you are at all inclined to try out the avOS, then be aware that it doesn't currently appear to work with drives larger than 40 GB's. I'm sure it'll soon be fixed, but that's the current state of development ...

tc600 is offline Old Post 02-06-2004 05:31 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for tc600 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
NCTreo600
Member

Registered: Oct 2002
Location: NC
Posts: 3

Dell Jukebox 20 GIG, buy the Dudebox software for it (don't use MusicMatch - sucks). Had the Archos 10Gig, loved it, but the new Dell is awesome!

Matt

NCTreo600 is offline Old Post 02-07-2004 03:54 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for NCTreo600 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 04:50 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
[ Show a Printable Version | Email This Page to Someone! | Receive updates to this thread ]

Forum Jump:

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.4
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.