news | articles | reviews | software | modules | accessories | discussion | faq | mobile | store
VisorCentral.com >> Discussion >> VisorCentral >> Article Comments
Sprint PCS Wireless Web Digital Link

Post a New Thread | Post A Reply

  Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Topic: Sprint PCS Wireless Web Digital Link    
VisorCentral
VisorCentral Writer

Registered: Oct 2001
Location:
Posts: 203

Sprint PCS Wireless Web Digital Link

It's a phone!... it's a wireless modem!... no, it's the Sprint PCS Wireless Web Digital Link SB3000, the first CDMA cellular Springboard module available for the Handspring Visor!

http://www.visorcentral.com/content/Stories/1346-1.htm

VisorCentral is offline Old Post 12-18-2001 11:29 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for VisorCentral Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
christopher_bailey
Member

Registered: Dec 1999
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 30

I'm SOOOOO frustrated with Sprint! Can someone tell me, if I am an existing Sprint PCS customer with a handset and with a phone number, why they can't find a way to say: "Mr. Bailey, your new Digital Link will utilize the same phone number, the same minutes, the same plan, the same everything AND you can continue to use your Samsung 8500."

What Sprint keeps telling me is: "Mr Bailey, you can have a phone in the bedroom, and a phone in the living room, but they're two different phones, so they require two different plans and yes, you'll have to pay twice."

I keep calling, hoping I'll find someone who can tell me otherwise, but I've yet to have any success.

I know what you're thinking ... ditch the Samsung. While in theory I could, I mean ... I cut my land line over three years ago and never looked back, not only am I not ready to ditch the Samsung, I have no desire to.

Have VisorPhone users had the same problem?

ARRRRGGGHHH!!!

(Other than that, I have been reasonably happy with Sprint PCS, by the way ... when I cut my landline, I signed up with Sprint and really haven't had any reason to leave them.)

Christopher

(edited for typos)

__________________
Visor Edge, Stowaway for Edge, Eyemodule I<br>(Visor Dx Ice - RIP)

christopher_bailey is offline Old Post 12-19-2001 12:22 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for christopher_bailey Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
MarkEagle
VisorCentral Staff

Registered: Dec 1999
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 2682

Unfortunately, I don't believe there's any cellular provider that will allow to phones to share the same number. I believe it's a technical limitation (or feature) of cell technology. Have you looked into Sprint's Add-a-Phone option? It allows multiple phones to share the same plan minutes.

__________________




    God bless America, my home sweet home...

MarkEagle is offline Old Post 12-19-2001 12:30 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for MarkEagle Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
bob.os
Member

Registered: Aug 2001
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 13

Couple of things

quote:
"Mr. Bailey, your new Digital Link will utilize the same phone number, the same minutes, the same plan, the same everything AND you can continue to use your Samsung 8500."


Chris, you can do this, but it will cost you $10-15/month for what they call the "add a phone" plan. Of course, they could have ditched this feature, like they did with many of their other features that gave sprint the competitive edge like first incoming minute free, no contract and so on.

My question, as a long time Sprint user, is how do you update the PRL on the phone?

For those who don't know the PRL is the database of cell towers that your phone can talk to. It is loaded on every phone, and us updated 2-3 times per year.

With most phones, you just take it in to the Sprint store and they flash it up for you. If you're lucky, it won't kill your phone book.

bob.os is offline Old Post 12-19-2001 12:33 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for bob.os Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
christopher_bailey
Member

Registered: Dec 1999
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 30

Re: Couple of things

quote:

Originally posted by bob.os


My question, as a long time Sprint user, is how do you update the PRL on the phone?

For those who don't know the PRL is the database of cell towers that your phone can talk to. It is loaded on every phone, and us updated 2-3 times per year.

With most phones, you just take it in to the Sprint store and they flash it up for you. If you're lucky, it won't kill your phone book.




Whoa, cool!

I've never had to go to one of there stores for anything, so I guess I should consider myself lucky.

I have had two phones in almost four years (first a Qualcomm, now a Samsung 8500) and can't remember having to do anythingh like that, however, there have been times I have been asked to power off and power back on and (magically) something was done ... thought what I never knew.

(edit: added the word 'almost')

__________________
Visor Edge, Stowaway for Edge, Eyemodule I<br>(Visor Dx Ice - RIP)

Last edited by christopher_bailey on 12-19-2001 at 02:16 AM

christopher_bailey is offline Old Post 12-19-2001 01:54 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for christopher_bailey Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
christopher_bailey
Member

Registered: Dec 1999
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 30

quote:
Originally posted by MarkEagle
Have you looked into Sprint's Add-a-Phone option? It allows multiple phones to share the same plan minutes.


After getting thru your great review (answered a lot of my questions, especially about my new Stowaway for Edge keyboard), I read about the Add A Phone option on the final page, so I thought what the heck, I'll call one more time...

While the customer service reps are nice, they have no magic wands that they can wave to get Sprint (or any cellular provider) to change there M.O.

I asked the rep about the Add A Phone plan and was given the following details:

* you need to be on a plan worth at least 49.99
* you can't be on a pay as you go plan
* your primary phone gets charged an additional $10 for this service
* your new phone gets charged $10 for this service as well

...and the kicker (for me anyway)...

* your new phone has a new phone number.

OK, better than what I thought my options were because I do get to share the minutes, but for someone on a $35/month plan, doubling my bill seems a little much.

I know, I know, I'm asking too much, but really, I'm going to stick with my previous analogy, slightly modified:

If I have a phone in the living room and a phone in the bedroom, let them both work off the same phone number.

I may change my mind down the road (read: I could be enticed by deeper discounts), but for now I will remain hopefully optimistic that someone finds a way to resolve this.

Thanks for letting me get this off my chest, and my number one Visor point-of-reference.

Christopher

__________________
Visor Edge, Stowaway for Edge, Eyemodule I<br>(Visor Dx Ice - RIP)

christopher_bailey is offline Old Post 12-19-2001 02:07 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for christopher_bailey Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
JHromadka
VisorCentral Staff

Registered: Sep 1999
Location: Texan in Calgary for a while
Posts: 1361

quote:
Originally posted by christopher_bailey
I know what you're thinking ... ditch the Samsung. While in theory I could, I mean ... I cut my land line over three years ago and never looked back, not only am I not ready to ditch the Samsung, I have no desire to.

Have VisorPhone users had the same problem?

That is the beauty of GSM. Pop out the card from one phone and insert it into the other without losing any of your contacts. Damn I can't wait to get a Treo.

__________________
James Hromadka
Old Friend

JHromadka is offline Old Post 12-19-2001 04:28 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for JHromadka Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Stanward
Member

Registered: Apr 2001
Location: Aloha State, Honolulu, HI
Posts: 35

Angry VisorPhone sucks

After reading the Sprint PCS review, that module kicks butt.

The VisorPhone module I have sucks, as the battery life is the real big pain. I have to recharge my VisorPhone once a day now(used to be recharging once every 2 days).

My Visor Prism will never see 3/4 full battery because by the time it gets near there, the VisorPhone needs recharging!

I've heard Handspring will be phasing out the VisorPhones, and concentrating more on the Treo.

Stan

Stanward is offline Old Post 12-20-2001 08:45 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Stanward Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Stanward
Member

Registered: Apr 2001
Location: Aloha State, Honolulu, HI
Posts: 35

Talking Oh, I forgot to add

How long do we wait for this Sprint module to drop from $249 to $199 to $99 to free????



Stan

Stanward is offline Old Post 12-20-2001 08:48 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Stanward Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
MarkEagle
VisorCentral Staff

Registered: Dec 1999
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 2682

I just came across this at Handspring: The Digital Link is available for $189.99 with service activation.

quote:
For a limited time, save $60 (with service activation) when you buy a Sprint PCS Wireless Web Digital Link™ module. Simply sign up for a new service plan and you'll receive a $60 rebate. It's the perfect way to send a Season's Greeting! But hurry—offer ends December 31, 2001

__________________




    God bless America, my home sweet home...

MarkEagle is offline Old Post 12-20-2001 10:07 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for MarkEagle Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Loaderloser
Member

Registered: Dec 2001
Location:
Posts: 1

WWDL Case

Got the WWDL a month ago & love it. Anyone know if there's a form fitting case that will fit it without getting one of those big generic cases? Tried getting the E&B case meant for the Visorphone. It's close but just doesn't quite fit. I think the WWDL has a chunkier battery and throws off how the cutouts line up with the buttons on the unit. Any help appreciated. Post reply here or send me a private EM.
P.S. Anyone who's already bought it got any ideas on how to get Sprint to give us a retroactive rebate? :^)

Loaderloser is offline Old Post 12-21-2001 02:19 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Loaderloser Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
dsds88
Member

Registered: Jan 2002
Location:
Posts: 1

You might try a cable made by these guys:
http://www.gomadic.com/

It allows you to use your cellphone as a wireless modem so you can dial into any ISP.

dsds88 is offline Old Post 01-26-2002 07:46 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for dsds88 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Talldog
Member

Registered: Mar 2001
Location:
Posts: 44

This review mentions being able to use the SB3000 to dial a 3rd party ISP. Has anyone actually been able to do this. I haven't been able to get it to work (it looks like it makes the connection to AT&T Global Net and then fails on handshaking). A 2nd level support guy at Sprint didn't think it could be done, and sent me to AirPrime. The first person I spoke to at AirPrime also said that she thought it couldn't be done. I'm waiting for a callback from a 2nd level person, but I'm not hopeful.

__________________
Talldog

Talldog is offline Old Post 02-19-2002 07:33 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Talldog Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
MarkEagle
VisorCentral Staff

Registered: Dec 1999
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 2682

quote:
Originally posted by Talldog
This review mentions being able to use the SB3000 to dial a 3rd party ISP. Has anyone actually been able to do this.
Yes, I was able to connect to EarthLink as an ISP. Most likely, your problem is either in the Connection/Network Preferences (possibly the script settings) or AT&T GlobalNet requires an encrypted login.

__________________




    God bless America, my home sweet home...

MarkEagle is offline Old Post 02-19-2002 10:28 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for MarkEagle Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
appler
Member

Registered: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 1

No 3G upgrade

On Page 6 of the article it states:

quote:
And since the Digital Link is software upgradeable to the upcoming 3G technology (due sometime in 2002)

However, according to a Handspring help file:
quote:
Is the Sprint PCS Wireless Web Digital Link upgradeable to 3G (PCS Vision) services from Sprint?

No. The Sprint PCS Wireless Web Digital Link uses 2G (Free & Clear) wireless technology.

It is not compatible with the new Sprint PCS Vision plans and must be used with a Free & Clear plan. To sign up for a new plan or to transfer service to your Digital Link module, please contact Sprint directly. There is a $34.99 activation fee for all new accounts.



Of course I can't really complain since today I ordered my WWDL for just shipping & tax, no charge.

appler is offline Old Post 11-09-2002 05:45 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for appler Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 04:53 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
[ Show a Printable Version | Email This Page to Someone! | Receive updates to this thread ]

Forum Jump:

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.4
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.