news | articles | reviews | software | modules | accessories | discussion | faq | mobile | store
VisorCentral.com >> Discussion >> Visor Related >> Communications
Handspring Modem 56k?

Post a New Thread | Post A Reply

  Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Topic: Handspring Modem 56k?    
AndrewB
Member

Registered: Feb 2000
Location:
Posts: 68

Question Handspring Modem 56k?

I saw an ebay auction for a Handspring 56k modem. I asked the seller if it was a real 56k modem, as I thought Handspring only made 33.6k modems.

She said she thought it was 56k, but then she called Customer Support, and they verified.

So why can't I find anything on the Internet about a Handspring 56k modem for the Visors?

Or is it some sort of software upgrade to the 33.6k modem?


Thanks in advance!

AndrewB is offline Old Post 05-17-2003 04:02 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for AndrewB Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Vertigo
Member

Registered: Sep 1999
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 406

Uhh.. that doesn't exist to me knowledge. Most customer support departments tend to fib a bit. I'm guessing the rep didn't know what thet were talking about.

Vertigo is offline Old Post 06-02-2003 02:19 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Vertigo Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
coville
Member

Registered: Jan 2001
Location: Knox, NY
Posts: 29

Re: Handspring Modem 56k?

quote:
Originally posted by AndrewB

So why can't I find anything on the Internet about a Handspring 56k modem for the Visors?



I don't know. Googled for +handspring +56K and found a ton of links. Including referance to the Xircom 56K which I have at home.

coville is offline Old Post 06-23-2003 03:56 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for coville Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Vertigo
Member

Registered: Sep 1999
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 406

To be clear, he's referring to a Handspring BRANDED modem. Not just any 56k modem for Handspring handhelds.

Vertigo is offline Old Post 06-23-2003 08:36 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Vertigo Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
HindeR
Member

Registered: Aug 2001
Location:
Posts: 143

My HS-branded modem is 33.6k. The manual says nothing about it's speed and shows 56k entered in the sample set up screen shot. The old Add-ons & Accessories catalog correctly lists it as 33.6.

The Wristband ThinModem Plus is 56k and has additional memory for storage space.

After inheriting a co-worker's modules when he switched to Sony, I now have quite a collection sitting in a box that is gathering dust. Stupid Handspring. At least I had fun with them while it lasted.

HindeR is offline Old Post 06-23-2003 08:51 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for HindeR Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Lee2
Member

Registered: Jan 2003
Location: B.C.
Posts: 24

Some thin "handspring" modems (no bigger than the slot ) were 33.6k. The xircom modem, which had a removable battery pack and sticks out a bit from the Handspring does do 56k (or as close as is permitted). I use that one. The xircom modem also has a slot that allows connection to a mobile phone with the proper cable. I believe I have seen other smaller modems that say they'll do 56k as well. I think it was just the handspring branded model that did 33.6.
Lee

Lee2 is offline Old Post 09-10-2003 05:05 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Lee2 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 04:48 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
[ Show a Printable Version | Email This Page to Someone! | Receive updates to this thread ]

Forum Jump:

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.4
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.