news | articles | reviews | software | modules | accessories | discussion | faq | mobile | store
VisorCentral.com >> Discussion >> Visor Models >> Visor Neo & Visor Pro
Neo hard resets when I change batteries.

Post a New Thread | Post A Reply

  Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Topic: Neo hard resets when I change batteries.    
xeyeder
Member

Registered: Apr 2001
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 5

Angry Neo hard resets when I change batteries.

Has any one else had this problem? I contacted HS, they stated I needed to send them the Neo (and a check for $25) and they would look into it.

This really sucks when you are on the road without your PC to get your backups from.

xeyeder is offline Old Post 11-08-2002 02:57 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for xeyeder Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
alight
Member

Registered: Jul 2002
Location:
Posts: 120

I agree that it is a real bummer.

However, something is definitely wrong with the Neo (I'm a big Neo fan). No way should it do that. Best to bite the bullet and send it to Handspring.

I've found them pretty reasonable to work with (though they are developing a pretty lax attitude about the Visors, which is a shame because these are really classics.) The more new devices that are introduced, the more I like Neos.

alight is offline Old Post 11-08-2002 03:47 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for alight Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
JohnKes
Member

Registered: Apr 2000
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 118

Bad Capacitor

xeyder,
You probably already saw my reply to your post at VisorVillage. For those at VisorCentral, here is what I said:

Sounds like the capacitor that maintains the memory went bad. If it is still under warranty, go for it. $25 is not bad.

If not, get a FullCharge NiMH battery pack for $35. You won't have to take batteries out for a long time. You plug in and charge whenever necessary, just like a cell phone:
http://www.extendcomputer.com/pages...hargeVisor.html
I used one with my Deluxe for a year and a half before I sold everything for a Prism. It worked great! And you won't be throwing batteries away all the time, so you can play games, etc. to your heart's content.

JohnKes is offline Old Post 11-08-2002 07:20 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for JohnKes Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
kalahari
Member

Registered: Sep 1999
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 431

Re: Neo hard resets when I change batteries.

quote:
Originally posted by xeyeder
Has any one else had this problem? I contacted HS, they stated I needed to send them the Neo (and a check for $25) and they would look into it.

This really sucks when you are on the road without your PC to get your backups from.


Don't know if this'll help, but I used to have that problem with my old Visor Deluxe. The way that it was solved was replacing one battery at a time instead of doing both at the same time.

kalahari is offline Old Post 11-08-2002 11:02 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for kalahari Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
rnunnink
Member

Registered: Jan 2001
Location: Sayre, PA
Posts: 39

I had the same problem with my Neo. And I know it sounds stupid but the power button is very easy to push inadvertly when you are changing the batteries on this model. Flipping th unit facedown on a table and changing the batteries was enough to jar my button. I change the batteries with the unit in my hand nothing touching the power supply button.

__________________
Facts all come with points of view
Facts don't do what I want them to
Facts just twist the truth around
Facts are living turned inside out
- David Byrne

rnunnink is offline Old Post 12-03-2002 04:09 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for rnunnink Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
edgenut
Member

Registered: Jul 2002
Location: In a van down by the river
Posts: 89

This happens to me once in a great while with my Visor and my Clie, I never found out why because Sony Support is so slow

__________________
I'd Rather be Diving.......(with my PDA of course)

Check out my forum @ http://groups.msn.com/PDAPocketPCForum

edgenut is offline Old Post 12-07-2002 07:12 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for edgenut Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
JohnKes
Member

Registered: Apr 2000
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 118

Kind of late, but if the capacitor is bad, the easiest solution would be to get a new button board, which would have a new capacitor. You can get these at www.GetHighTech.com

A bad capacitor may also result in battery drain. There is a thread on this at:
http://www.pdastreet.com/forums/sho...p?threadid=3756

Hope this helps.
JK

JohnKes is offline Old Post 12-20-2002 05:49 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for JohnKes Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Redstarwizard
Member

Registered: May 2002
Location: Eastern USA
Posts: 2

Cool Neo Resets when changing the batteries fix.

I have experienced this same situation with my Neo. What I do is a soft reset with the pin in the back. Next when the preferences screen is displayed, turn the unit off. Change the batteries one at a time. I have done this successfully. Try it for yourself. I think it should work for you also.

Good Luck and Happy Holidays and a Happy Nw Year as well from the Wizard.

Redstarwizard is offline Old Post 12-27-2002 06:29 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Redstarwizard Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
EricG
Member

Registered: Aug 2000
Location: Alive and well on VisorCentral.com
Posts: 861

How long are you leaving the unit with no batteries in it? I hope under a minute.. any longer and you run the risk of the unit resetting itself. I knew one person who had a similar problem, only to find out they had the unit without batteries for something like 10 mins and couldn't understand why it was resetting itself.

__________________
"One of the most important things you learn from the internet is that there is no ‘them’ out there. It’s just an awful lot of ‘us’." -- Douglas Adams

EricG is offline Old Post 12-27-2002 08:04 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for EricG Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 04:43 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
[ Show a Printable Version | Email This Page to Someone! | Receive updates to this thread ]

Forum Jump:

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.4
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.